

## Witness Fee Changes in the 2022/2023 Fee Schedule

Phoenix — 8/30/2022

Dear Stakeholder,

Following stakeholder feedback during the Physicians' and Pharmaceutical Fee Schedule adoption process, the Commission updated the reimbursement process for witness fees. Effective October 1, 2022, healthcare providers who testify at an Administrative Law Judge hearing at the request of insurance providers, self-insured employers, and the Special Fund will no longer be reimbursed by the Commission. Insurance providers, self-insured employers, and the Special Fund are responsible to work directly with witnesses who are testifying at their request and provide the appropriate reimbursement, guidelines of which are outlined in this year's <a href="Fee Schedule">Fee Schedule</a>. The Commission will not be involved in these transactions.

Only witnesses who are requested to testify by a workers' compensation claimant will continue to be reimbursed by the Commission.

Section I of the Fee Schedule can be found below:

## I. WITNESS FEES

- 1. Insurance providers, self-insured employers, and the Special Fund of the Commission are responsible for paying \$150.00 for the first hour of testimony (or any portion thereof) and \$50.00 for each 20 minute increment following the initial hour (or any portion thereof) to a healthcare provider who testifies at hearing at their request.
- 2. The Commission is responsible for paying \$150.00 for the first hour of testimony (or any portion thereof) and \$50.00 for each 20 minute increment following the initial hour (or any portion thereof) to a healthcare provider who testifies at hearing on request of a workers' compensation claimant.

Regards,

The Industrial Commission of Arizona

The Industrial Commission of Arizona | www.azica.gov



